Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
The Recorder’s Office is prohibited by law from providing you with legal advice. We can only provide you with the recording requirements for a particular document when presented for recording. We recommend that you contact a legal advisor for assistance in preparing your document.
Show All Answers
Any document affecting title to real property that is authorized or required by law to be recorded. Including such documents as Grant Deeds, Deed of Trusts, Mechanic’s Liens, Tax Liens and Reconveyances. The recording requirements are established by California Statutes.
Legal Advice Limitation:
The Clerk/Recorder’s Office is prohibited from giving legal advice, cannot advise which forms are needed, nor advise how to fill them out. It may be advisable to consult an Attorney, CPA or Title Agent because of the legal aspects involved in holding title to property or transferring title.
How to Transfer Title:
California Revenue and Taxation Code 11911(a) allows each county to impose a documentary transfer tax on realty transferred when the consideration or value of the property is greater than $100.00. Transfer Tas is calculated at the rate of $0.55 per $500.00 of property value. It is due at the time of recording unless a valid exemption under the Revenue and Taxation Code is provided (R & T 11911 – 11930) Transfer Tax Table
The Recorder-County Clerk does not have the authority to release a lien without a properly signed Release of Lien form. A Release of Lien form can be obtained by contacting the party/entity who issued the lien.
Statute requires that the document be photographically reproducible. This includes all portions of the documents including areas completed by pen, signatures, seals and all Exhibits including maps and charts.
Type must be complete. No chipped type will be accepted.
Maps, diagrams and pictures are strongly discouraged. Scanning is done in black and white therefore colored images/documents often lose their detail when imaged, and would therefore not be accepted.
A conformed copy is an exact photocopy of the completed document, made by the customer and presented to the examiner at the time of the recording.
For a fee, the examiner will affix the recording information, which includes the document number and date of recording on the copy to be conformed. If the document is being submitted via mail, a self-addressed stamped envelope is required.
Yes, our Self Service Web is available to search the index from 1979 to present at https://humboldtgov.org/1992/Search-Self-Service-Web
The Recorder’s Office is required to make a permanent record of all documents. All documents are scanned into the computer system for immediate viewing the day after recording. Copies are also stored on microfilm for archival purposes.
Once the images on the computer & microfilm have been checked for accuracy, the originals are returned to the requester in approximately two to three weeks.
YES, "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY” on the Death Certificate is recordable. Documents stamped “For Veterans Use ONLY” are NOT Recordable.