Main Eureka Station

Photo of the sheriff sign outside of main station


The Main Station Patrol unit is currently comprised of two Lieutenants, four Sergeants, six Corporals, and 21 Deputy Sheriff's. Together, they provide quality law enforcement services 24 hours a day, seven days a week to the unincorporated areas of Humboldt County from Arcata south to Redcrest.

Areas Served

The areas consists of two main beats: Central and South. The central beat covers the unincorporated areas of Arcata (Bayside, Fickle Hill) and Eureka (Myrtletown, Cutten, Pine Hill, Samoa, Fairhaven) along with those areas of Kneeland and Elk River. The south beat covers the unincorporated areas surrounding the cities of Fortuna, Ferndale and Rio Dell. Additionally the south beat covers the areas of Humboldt Hill, the South Spit / Table Bluff area, Loleta, Hydesville, Scotia and the Redcrest area.


The Deputy Sheriffs assigned to these beats are responsible for patrolling approximately 800 square miles and providing law enforcement services to the residents and visitors to those regions. Many of the neighborhoods in the beat areas have strong formal neighborhood watch programs in place while those areas that are rural or isolated, such as Kneeland, Hydesville, and Bridgeville, rely on the less formal but equally effective method of "neighbors watching out for neighbors".