Mental Health

Mental Health programs and services are committed to the principles of recovery, wellness, and discovery, which states that every client has the ability to:
  • Determine their own treatment course
  • Define what "purposeful activity" means to them
  • Determine how and in what way they wish to advance their own independence
  • Develop the interest and skills to determine how best to advantage "failure"
  • Develop their own defined family network
  • Advance their abilities in developing strong and lasting relationships of their choice.

Eligibility for Services

Each person is screened for eligibility to determine if Humboldt County Mental Health can serve their needs or if a referral to a community provider would be more appropriate. Mental Health contracts with the Department of Health Care Services at the state level that designates which diagnoses from the “Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Diagnosis” (DSM) can be treated.

To be eligible for services, a person must have an allowable diagnosis that causes substantial impairments in at least one area of major life functioning. Along with an eligible diagnosis, some of the symptoms that may qualify a person for services include: severely depressed mood, suicide attempts, self-harm, psychiatric hospitalizations, hallucinations, inability to work or maintain housing and/or an inability to meet daily needs for long periods of time due to an allowable mental health diagnosis.

Both children and adults who are eligible for ongoing services must have a DSM diagnosis and a serious impairment or the probability of significant deterioration in an important area of life functioning. Children may also qualify if there is a probability that the child will not progress developmentally as appropriate.

Evidence Based Practices (EBP) are used to ensure the best treatment outcomes.

As a National Health Service Corps site, we promise to:

• Serve all patients
• Offer discounted fees for patients who qualify
• Not deny services based on a person’s:

  • Race
  • Color
  • Sex
  • Age
  • National origin
  • Disability
  • Religion
  • Gender identity
  • Sexual orientation
  • Inability to pay.

• Accept insurance, including:

  • Medicaid
  • Medicare
  • Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

This facility is a member of the National Health Service Corps: