Beginning Monday May 3, 2021 the Clerk Recorder’s Office is available for Public Walk-In beginning at 10:30am until 4:30pm.
Appointments will no longer be necessary beginning May 3rd, as the lobby will be open to customers on a first come first served basis. The number of customers will remain regulated, so it may be necessary to wait to be assisted.
To avoid wait time, Documents to be recorded, Clerk filings, copy order requests, and vital records certificate requests may still be submitted by any of the following:
Drop box located outside the Clerk Recorder’s Office door. Self service forms are available on our forms page and next to the drop box.
US Mail or Express mail
VitalChek online service (vital records copies only)
If you have any questions please contact us directly by phone at:
or send email to:
2021 Clerk Recorder fee schedule Opens a New Window.
Opens a New Window. Opens a New Window. It is the goal of the Recorder’s Office to efficiently record documents for the public record. However, before being accepted for recording, each document must meet certain requirements. The following is a general checklist intended only to assist you in the recording process and reduce the possibility that your document will be returned unrecorded.
The Recorder’s Office is prohibited from giving legal advice; nor can staff assist the public in the preparation of legal documents. If you have questions concerning which document form is appropriate for your transaction, or if you are in need of assistance in obtaining forms or the preparation of that document, you should consult an attorney or obtain other professional advice.
Review the following for all documents:
- Remember to enclose payment for the correct recording fees Opens a New Window. .
- Make certain the check or money order is payable to the Humboldt Clerk/Recorder.
- If you are unsure what the total fee for recording will be, you may leave the amount blank and write below the line "not to exceed $_____".(add a dollar amount above which you believe is correct)
- If you are claiming an exemption from SB2’s additional $75 fee, ensure your completed SB2 exemption coversheet is completed, attached to your document, and your fee includes the additional $3 page fee to cover the additional page fee.
- Review the "Basic Recording Requirements"(pdf) before submitting your document(s).
- The order in which your documents are recorded can be very important. Be sure to staple each document individually and separately, and submit them in the order in which you would like them to be recorded.
- If the document is being acknowledged in California, make sure your document contains the current "California All-Purpose Acknowledgment" (pdf)" Opens a New Window. .
- If the document is being "Subscribed and Sworn" in California, verify your document contains the current "California Notary Jurat".(pdf)
- If you are requesting a Conformed Copy, be sure to include the copy to be conformed, an additional $2 fee, and a self-addressed stamped envelope. (envelope not required when recording in person)
Additional items to review for deeds and transfers:
- Every deed or transfer must be submitted with a Preliminary Change of Ownership Report. (pdf) Opens a New Window. . This form must be completed and signed by the receiver of the interest of the property. If you wish to forego the form at the time of recording, a $20 non-filing penalty fee must be included in your fees.
- Before being accepted for recording, every document transferring an interest in real property shall have written upon its face a declaration stating the amount of Documentary Transfer Tax and the area in which the property is located. (see transfer tax declaration example) (pdf) Opens a New Window. The statement must be completed to show either the amount of Transfer Tax, (see documentary transfer tax table here) (pdf) Opens a New Window. , which is payable at the time of recording, or the word "None" or "$0" along with a valid Revenue and Taxation Code allowing for the exemption. Applicable exemptions and requirements by California statute can be researched in Revenue and Taxation codes 11921 through 11930. Opens in New Window
Notice: All information provided by the Clerk-Recorder’s Office through this website is subject to change without notice. The information contained herein is for informational purposes only and is not intended to replace information or advise obtained from your attorney or other legal professional.