Record a Document
Clerk Recorder Fee Change Notice
Various Clerk Recorder fees will be changing on January 1st 2019. Please take this into account if your documents will be arriving in the office on or after January 1st.
2019 Clerk Recorder Fee Schedule
Are my documents subject to an additional $75 fee?
The County Recorder, upon payment of proper fees and taxes, will accept any document which is authorized or required by California law to be recorded, if the document contains required information and if it is photographically reproducible.
The base recording fees are as follows:
|Each additional page||$3|
|Real estate fraud fee||$3|
|Release of Governmental lien||$11|
|Release of Governmental lien - each additional page||$3|
Building Homes & Jobs Act fee - each title/parcel without exemption $75
Please click here for a complete list of our 2019 Clerk Recorder fee schedule.
All applicable fees must be paid at the time of recording. Payment may be made in cash, personal check, cashier's check or money order payable to the Humboldt County Recorder. We do not accept credit or debit cards as a form of payment.
Available Office Forms:
- SB2 Exemption Cover-Sheet
- 2019 Clerk Recorder Fee Schedule
- Recording Cover-sheet
- Recording Cover-sheet with Documentary Transfer Tax Declaration
- Preliminary Change of Ownership Report
- California All-Purpose Acknowledgment
- California Notary Jurat
- Illegible Notary Seal Declaration
- Real Estate Forms
- Humboldt County Law Library
- Legal Entity Ownership Program (LEOP) - California State Board of Equalization.
Each document presented for recording must include or comply with California state law general recording requirements. Click here for a list of Basic Recording Requirements.
State law requires the transferee (buyer) of real property to file a completed Preliminary Change of Ownership Report concurrently with the recordation of any document effecting a change in ownership. If the form is not signed by the transferee and filed, the recorder will charge an additional fee of $20. For questions on proper completion of the form, please contact the Assessor’s Change of Ownership Department at (707) 445-7276.
||Before being accepted for recording, every document transferring an interest in real property shall have written upon its face a declaration stating the amount of Documentary Transfer Tax and the area in which the property is located. (see documentary transfer tax declaration example) The statement must be completed to show either the amount of Transfer Tax due, which is payable at the time of recording, or the word "None" or $0 and a valid Revenue and Taxation Code allowing for the exemption. Applicable exemptions and requirements by California statute can be researched in Revenue and Taxation Codes 11921 through 11930.|
Note: The Recorder's Office is prohibited from giving any legal advice and cannot assist the public in the preparation of legal documents. If you have any questions concerning which document form is appropriate to your transaction, or are in need of assistance in the preparation of that document, consult an attorney or obtain other professional advice. If you have any questions regarding the recording process, you may call (707)445-7593 or Toil free at (888) HUMB-REC.