Forestry Review Committee

Regular Meetings

All meetings of the Forestry Review Committee (FRC) are open to the public. Any person is allowed to testify regarding the business of the committee. FRC meetings are subject to reasonable restrictions by the committee Chair as to order of presentation, length of time and subject matter.

Meetings are held at:
Humboldt County Planning and Building Department
3015 H St.
Eureka, CA 95501
Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

The Forestry Review Committee's terms and qualifications (PDF) are defined by ordinance.
  • Thomas Blair, District 1                                               Blair Forestry
  • Benjamin Hawk, District 2                                          Humboldt Redwood Company
  • Mark Andre, District 3
    City of Arcata
  • Jim Able, District 4                                                Able Forestry Consultants
  • Gary Rynearson, District 5                                Green Diamond Resource Company
  • Trever Estlow, Ex Officio
    Humboldt County Planning and Building Department

  • Vacant, At-Large
  • James Robbins, At-Large
    Fortuna Resource Management / CalFire
  • Chris Carroll, At-Large                               Timberland Resource Consultants
  • Yana Valachovic, At-Large
    County Forest Advisor
  • Mari Wilson, Ex Officio
    Humboldt County Assessor
Committee Appointments
Of the seven voting members, five are appointed individually by each Board Supervisor and two are appointed at-large by the full board. Appointees are not required to reside in the district of the Board Supervisor making the appointment but all appointees must reside within Humboldt County. All voting members must be Registered Professional Foresters in good standing and working in Humboldt County. Committee member terms are 4 years and expire on June 30 of the final year.

The FRC was originally established in 1952 by Ordinance No. 1711 of the Humboldt County Board of Supervisors and consists of seven voting and two ex-officio (non-voting) members. The FRC reviews technical forest-related matters of concern to Humboldt County and makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors and Planning Commission.

Staff Contact
For more information about the FRC or to join the meeting notification email list, contact the Current Planning Division at 707-445-7541.