Local Fire Safe Councils


Fire safe councils (FSCs) are voluntary organizations that typically consist of local concerned citizens, representatives from state and federal fire agencies, and local fire districts and fire protection organizations who share a common, vested interest in wildfire prevention and loss mitigation. FSCs form to enhance the effectiveness of fire protection and prevention by securing grant funds and volunteer support for fire hazard reduction projects and performing community fire-safety education.

Communities that organize themselves into FSCs and participate in a community wildfire protection plan (CWPP) and/or Firewise Communities/USA® process give themselves a competitive advantage for securing grant funds, particularly federal funding through the California FSC. FSCs also provide the ideal forum for communities to discuss, analyze, and solve fire-related issues before they become a crisis. They also provide opportunities for local jobs, community partnerships, and widespread community involvement. To learn more about forming and sustaining a FSC go to the California FSC website.

There are six local FSCs in Humboldt County, in addition to the County FSC. Some FSCs maintain their own local CWPPs, while others choose to use their area's Planning Unit Action Plan (Part 4 of the countywide CWPP) as their guiding document. Many also maintain Firewise® community assessments and action plans. These groups have been successful in securing funding for and implementing hazardous fuels reduction projects within their local communities. They have also organized many events focused on informing their community about wildfire preparedness. The following table lists currently active local FSCs and their contact information. The map below illustrates their areas of operation.

Local Fire Safe Councils

List of Local Fire Safe Councils
Fire Safe Council Name Formation Date

Contact Information

Orleans/Somes Bar FSC


Will Harling (530) 627-3202

Southern Humboldt FSC


Bill Eastwood (707) 923-9109

Lower Mattole FSC 


Ian Sigman or Ali Freedlund 
(707) 629-3514 

Van Duzen Watershed FSC 2004 Lyn Javier

Crooked Prairie FSC


Kathy Weber (707) 986 7705 

Willow Creek FSC


Barbara Darst (707) 499-0767