Medical Marijuana & 215 Identification Card

Humboldt County administers the California Department of Public Health’s Medical Marijuana Program (MMP). The legal protections provided by the passage of Proposition 215 (Compassionate Use Act of 1996) in California are limited. Consult an attorney, if you have questions about your personal situation. Both medical marijuana users and their primary caregivers are eligible for a medical marijuana identification card (MMIC). State cards must be renewed annually.

To obtain an ID card
The application form for the MMIC is available at the receptionist’s window of our Eureka, Garberville and Willow Creek Public Health clinics. The patient or caregiver can complete their portion, but physician documentation is required before the application can be submitted.

Once patient and physician information is completed, the patient or caregiver will need to schedule an appointment at the Eureka Public Health office. During the 15-20 minute appointment, the application is checked for completeness, the fee is collected and a photograph is taken. Public Health will confirm the medical provider’s prescription/recommendation by phone or fax and verify that the ordering provider is licensed and in current good standing.

The patient or caregiver can expect a card from the state about two weeks after the interview.

What you will need to bring to your interview
  • Proof of identity (e.g., a California driver’s license identification card or U.S. Passport)
  • Proof of Humboldt County residency (e.g., a recent utility bill, rental/mortgage receipt, or car registration)
  • A licensed California doctor’s recommendation. (A current/valid physicians statement—no copies please—originals only.)
  • Completed application
The fee for the MMIC is $191 for non Medi-Cal patients and $95.50 for Medi-Cal patients—please bring Medi-Cal card if applicable. (The non-refundable payment can be made by cash, money order or check.)

What you will need to receive a primary caregiver ID card
The medical cannabis user must possess his or her own medical marijuana identification card and must accompany his or her primary caregiver to the interview when the caregiver applies for a card. To receive a primary caregiver ID card the caregiver will need to bring to the interview:
  • Proof of Identity (e.g., California, driver’s license, identification or U.S. Passport)
  • Complete Section 4 of the application for the primary caregiver
  • The fee for the MMIC is $191 for non Medi-Cal patients and $95.50 for Medi-Cal patients—please bring Medi-Cal card if applicable. (The non-refundable payment can be made by cash, money order or check.)
Contact us with any questions regarding the MMP application process or to schedule an appointment.